Appendix C. Milestones

C.1 New Faculty and Staff

Dr. Anantha P. Chandrakasan joined RLE's Circuits and Devices Group in September 1994. Concurrently, he was appointed as assistant professor and to the Analog Devices Career Development Professorship in MIT's Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. Professor Chandrakasan came to MIT from the University of California/Berkeley (BS '89, MS '90, PhD '94), where he recently completed postgraduate research in low-power integrated circuit design.

C.2 Promotions

Dr. Qing Hu was promoted to associate professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, effective February 1995. In RLE's Optical Communications Group, Professor Hu's research has focused on the response of solid-state devices to high-frequency radiation.

C.3 Appointments

Dr. Miklos Porkolab, Professor of Physics, was appointed director of MIT's Plasma Fusion Center (PFC), effective February 1, 1995. Professor Porkolab has served as PFC's associate director for plasma research since 1991, as well as acting head of the centers Toroidal Confinement Division since 1994.

C.4 Awards and Honors

Dr. Arthur B. Baggeroer (SM/EE '65, ScD '68), Ford Professor of Engineering, was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1995. Professor Baggeroer was cited for his contributions in signal processing that have been applied to sonar. As a principal investigator in RLE's Digital Signal Processing Group, Professor Baggeroer uses advanced signal processing techniques to explore underwater acoustics and geophysics.

An International Symposium on the Physics of Laboratory and Space Plasmas was held at MIT in honor of **Dr. Bruno Coppi**, Professor of Physics, on January 19 and 20, 1995. Professor Coppi is a principal investigator in RLE's Plasma Physics Group.

Dr. Jacqueline N. Hewitt (PhD '86), Class of 1948 Associate Professor of Physics, received the American Physical Society's 1995 Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award sponsored by the General Electric Foundation. The award recognizes outstanding achievements by a women physicist in the early years of her career and provides opportunities to present these achievements through public lectures. Professor Hewitt received the award at ceremonies held during the American Physical Society meeting in San Jose, California, on March 20, 1995. She is a principal investigator in RLE's Radio Astronomy Group.

Dr. Wolfgang Ketterle, Assistant Professor of Physics, was named recipient of the Michael and Philip Platzman Award by MIT's Department of Physics. Professor Ketterle, a principal investigator in RLE's Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics Group, was cited for his emerging leadership in the field of laser cooling and trapping of atoms at high density.

Dr. William F. Schreiber, Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1995. Professor Schreiber was cited for his contributions to image processing, television technology, video compression, and color graphics. He has pioneered developments in the field of image processing, electronic imaging systems, and transmission coding for over four decades.

Dr. Henry I. Smith, Joseph F. and Nancy P. Keithley Professor of Electrical Engineering, was named the recipient of the 1995 IEEE Cledo Brunetti Award for his contributions to microfabrication science and technology, notably microlithography. Professor Smith is a principal investigator in RLE's Quantum-Effect Devices Group and director of MIT's NanoStructures Laboratory. The annual Brunetti Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions in the field of miniaturization in the electronic arts, will be presented to Professor Smith during the International Electron Devices Meeting in Washington, D.C., on December 12, 1995.