Appendix C. Milestones

C.1 New Faculty and Staff

- **Dr. Boris L. Altshuler**, Associate Professor of Physics, joined RLE's Surfaces and Interfaces Group.
- **Dr. Gregory W. Wornell** (SM '87, PhD '91), was appointed to Assistant Professor in the the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. Professor Wornell is a faculty member in RLE's Digital Signal Processing Group.
- **Dr. Santanu Basu** was appointed Research Scientist in RLE's Optics and Devices Group.
- **Dr. Mario** A. Svirsky was appointed Research Scientist in RLE's Speech Communication Group.
- **Dr. Ying-Ching Eric Yang** (SM '85, PhD '89), was appointed Research Scientist in RLE's Center for Electromagnetic Theory and Applications.

C.2 Retirements

Dr. Peter A. Wolff, Professor of Physics and Director Emeritus of both RLE (1967-81) and MIT's Francis Bitter National Magnet Laboratory (1981-86), announced his retirement after 21 years at MIT. Professor Wolff was with RLE's Optics and Devices Group.

C.3 Promotions

- **Dr. Jesús A. del Alamo**, ITT Career Development Professor, was promoted to Associate Professor without tenure in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. Professor del Alamo is a faculty member in RLE's Materials and Fabrication Group.
- **Dr. J. David Litster**, Director Emeritus of MIT's Francis Bitter National Magnet Laboratory and former RLE faculty member, was promoted to Vice President and Dean for Research at MIT.
- **Dr. Jacob White** (BS '80), Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, was promoted to Associate Professor without tenure in that Department. Professor White is a faculty member in RLE's Circuits and Systems Group.
- **Dr. John Melngailis** was promoted from Principal Research Scientist to Senior Research Scientist in RLE's Materials and Fabrication Group.

C.4 Chair Appointments

- A faculty member of RLE's Digital Signal Processing Group, *Dr. Arthur B. Baggeroer* (EE '65, SM '65, ScD '68) was appointed Ford Professor of Engineering, which recognizes outstanding senior faculty in the School of Engineering.
- **Dr. Sylvia T. Ceyer**, Professor of Chemistry and faculty member in RLE's Surfaces and Interfaces Group, was named recipient of the first William M. Keck Foundation Professorship in the field of energy.
- **Dr. Qing Hu**, faculty member in RLE's Optics and Devices Group, was appointed Kokusai Denshin Denwa (KDD) Career Development Professor in Communications and Technology for a two-year period beginning September 1, 1991.
- **Dr. Leslie A. Kolodziejski** was appointed Karl Van Tassel Career Development Professor for a two-year period beginning September 1, 1991. Professor Kolodziejski is a faculty member in the Materials and Fabrication Group at RLE.

C.5 Awards and Honors

RLE celebrated its **45th anniversary** with a festive gathering of faculty, staff, students and friends at the MIT Museum on October 28, 1991.

The MIT Physics Department celebrated the 90th birthday of *Professor Emeritus William P. Allis* (BS '23, MS '24) on November 15, 1991.

- **Dr. Abraham Bers** (SM '55, ScD '59), Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, was elected Vice Chairman of the Division of Plasma Physics of the American Physical Society. Professor Bers is a faculty member in RLE's Plasma Physics Group.
- **Dr. Robert J. Birgeneau**, Head of MIT's Physics Department and Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Physics, was appointed Dean of MIT's School of Science effective July 1, 1991. Professor Birgeneau is a faculty member in RLE's Surfaces and Interfaces Group.
- Dr. Amar Bose (SB '51, SM '52, PhD '56), Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer

- Science, was elected Fellow to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in May 1991.
- A faculty member in RLE's Plasma Physics Group, *Dr. Bruno Coppi*, Professor of Physics, received the annual Leadership Award from Fusion Power Associates of Gaithersburg, Maryland.
- Dr. Hermann A. Haus (ScD '54), Institute Professor, was named recipient of the 1991 Education Medal from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers. Professor Haus is a faculty member in RLE's Optics and Devices Group.
- **Dr. Daniel Kleppner**, Associate Director of RLE and Lester Wolfe Professor of Physics, received the 1991 Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize from the American Physical Society. Professor Kleppner is also faculty member in RLE's Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics Group.
- Dr. Patrick A. Lee (SB '66, PhD '70), William and Emma Rogers Professor of Physics, received the 1991 Buckley Prize in Condensed Matter Physics from the American Physical Society. Professor Lee was also elected Fellow to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in May 1991. Professor Lee is a faculty member in RLE's Quantum-Effect Devices Group.
- **Dr. Miklos Porkolab,** Professor of Physics and faculty member in RLE's Plasma Physics Group, was appointed Associate Director for Plasma Research at MIT's Plasma Fusion Center.
- Dr. David E. Pritchard, Professor of Physics and faculty member in RLE's Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics Group, was awarded the 1991 Herbert P. Broida Prize by the American Physical Society.
- **Dr. William F. Schreiber**, Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, received the 1991 Gold Medal of the International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE). Professor Schreiber was also elected a Fellow of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers.

- Dr. Jeffrey H. Shapiro (SB '67, SM '68, EE '69, PhD '70), Associate Department Head and Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, was elected Fellow of the Optical Society of America. Professor Shapiro is a faculty member in RLE's Optical Communications Group.
- **Dr. Thomas F. Weiss** (SM '59, PhD '63), Professor of Electrical and Bioengineering and faculty member in RLE's Auditory Physiology Group, was appointed to the Academic Computing Council.
- A faculty member in RLE's Circuits and Systems Group, *Dr. John L. Wyatt, Jr.* (SB '68), Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, was named the first Adler Scholar by the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.
- **Dr. Jesús A. del Alamo**, ITT Career Development Professor and faculty member in RLE's Materials and Fabrication Group, was awarded a 1991 Presidential Young Investigator Award by the National Science Foundation.
- **Dr. Jacqueline N. Hewitt** (PhD '86), Assistant Professor of Physics and faculty member in RLE's Radio Astronomy Group, was awarded a 1991 Presidential Young Investigator Award by the National Science Foundation.
- Mr. John W. Barrett, a member of the Sponsored Research Technical Staff in RLE's Radio Astronomy Group, completed 40 years of service with the Laboratory.
- **Dr. Harlan Lane**, a Research Affiliate in RLE's Speech Communication Group, was awarded a five-year MacArthur Foundation fellowship.
- **Dr. Ying-Ching Eric Yang** (SM '85, PhD '89), Research Scientist in RLE's Center for Electromagnetic Theory and Applications, was selected as the 1990 Henry G. Booker Fellow of the International Union of Radio Scientists (URSI).